Canada to Host Top Women’s Rugby Event in 2024

Canada has been chosen as the host country for the second edition of WXV1, the highest tier of World Rugby’s flagship women’s competition. The tournament will take place in September and October 2024, with the venues to be confirmed soon.

What is WXV?

WXV is a global women’s rugby competition that was launched in 2023 by World Rugby, the governing body of the sport. It consists of three tiers, WXV1, WXV2, and WXV3, each featuring six teams that play in a round-robin format. The teams are determined by their rankings and performances in regional tournaments and World Cups.

The aim of WXV is to increase the quality, exposure, and development of women’s rugby, as well as to create more opportunities and pathways for players and teams. WXV also serves as a qualification process for the World Cup, with the top six non-qualified teams at the end of WXV 2024 earning a spot at the 2025 tournament.

Rugby Event
Rugby Event

How did Canada qualify for WXV1?

Canada qualified for WXV1 by finishing as the runners-up in the inaugural edition of the competition in 2023, behind champions England. Canada also secured a third-place finish at the 2023 World Cup in New Zealand, where they lost to eventual winners France in the semi-finals.

Canada boasts a strong and experienced women’s rugby team, featuring some of the world’s best players, such as Sophie de Goede, Magali Harvey, and Elissa Alarie. Many of Canada’s players also compete in the Premiership Women’s Rugby (PWR) league in England, where they play for top clubs like Saracens, Harlequins, and Loughborough Lightning.

What are the challenges and opportunities for Canada?

Canada faces several challenges and opportunities as the host and participant of WXV1 in 2024, such as:

  • The competition and pressure from the other teams, especially England, France, and New Zealand, who are the top three ranked teams in the world and the previous World Cup finalists. Canada will have to prepare well and perform consistently to match and beat these formidable opponents.
  • The opportunity to showcase and promote women’s rugby in Canada and North America, where the sport is still developing and growing. Canada will have the chance to attract more fans, sponsors, and media attention to the game, as well as to inspire and encourage more girls and women to take up rugby.
  • The possibility of winning the WXV1 title and becoming the world’s best women’s rugby team. Canada has never won a major international trophy in women’s rugby, despite reaching the World Cup final in 2014 and the WXV1 final in 2023. Canada will have the home advantage and the motivation to make history and claim the crown in 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *